Town Council and Mayor

The Town government is composed of a mayor and six council members, each with a four year term. Council terms are staggered, with three council members being elected every two years. The mayor is elected every four years. The chief administrative officer of the Town is the Town Manager, who also acts as Clerk to the Council. The Town Manager is appointed

Correspondence to the Mayor or any Council Member may be addressed to the Town Office, 6150 Community Drive, Chincoteague Island, Virginia 23336. The Mayor and Council do not maintain regular office hours.

The Town Council meets on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 PM in Council Chambers located at 6150 Community Drive.  All meetings of the Town Council are open to the public and are handicap accessible.

J. Arthur Leonard, Mayor
Term: July 01, 2020 – June 30, 2024
ALeonard@chincoteague-va.gov

Ellen W. Richardson, Councilwoman
Term: July 01, 2018 – June 30, 2022
ERichardson@chincoteague-va.gov

William T. McComb Jr, Councilman
Term: July 01, 2020 – June 30, 2024
WMcComb@chincoteague-va.gov

  

Denise P. Bowden, Councilwoman
Term: July 01, 2020 – June 30, 2024
DBowden@chincoteague-va.gov

Jay Savage, Councilman
Term: July 01, 2018 – June 30, 2022
JSavage@chincoteague-va.gov

Christopher D. Bott, Vice Mayor
Term: July 01, 2020 – June 30, 2022
CBott@chincoteague-va.gov

Gene W. Taylor, Councilman
Term: July 01, 2020 – June 30, 2024
GTaylor@chincoteague-va.gov
(757) 894-3008